Our Team

 

At Vandeputte Law, we strive for high levels of communication and accessibility. We recognize that our clients come to us with very important matters and transactions, and we believe that providing timely and relevant information about each case is an important step in building trust and rapport with our clients.


Casey J. Vandeputte

Barrister & Solicitor, Notary Public
Casey Vandeputte is the successor to a law practice that was established in 1944 in Dundas, Ontario. His practice focuses on Corporate Law, Real Estate, Wills & Estates and Estate Litigation. The Corporate Law practice focuses on buying and selling businesses, succession planning for the family business, and real estate investments.

Casey has a Bachelor of Mathematics degree from the University of Waterloo. Prior to practicing law, he worked for Research In Motion/BlackBerry in Product Development, where he brought new products to wireless carrier partners throughout Latin America and the United States. While attending law school at Western University, he continued to work at RIM in their patents group, helping to build an industry leading patent portfolio. After being called to the Bar, he provided consulting services to high-tech organizations in winning patenting strategies.

Casey is an amateur bridge player, and enjoys cooking and fishing.

casey@vdplaw.ca
Ext 105

Whitney Smith

Whitney Smith is an experienced family law lawyer and has been practicing exclusively in this area since her call to the bar.  She holds a Juris Doctor from the University of Toronto, prior to which she earned a degree in Religious Studies from McGill University.

Whitney is a talented negotiator and has a proven track record of resolving seemingly unresolvable matters including those with long litigation histories.  She also practices collaborative law, which is an alternative process aimed at resolving family law matters respectfully outside the court system and without perpetuating the vitriol that can so often plague divorce proceedings.  Although her primary objective is always to resolve matters out of court, she is an experienced litigator and will proceed to court as necessary.

When she is not working, Whitney enjoys cooking, antiquing and spending time with her husband and young son.  She is a proud Big Sister to an amazing Little with Big Brothers Big Sisters Canada, and a member of the Family Law Subcommittee of the Hamilton Law Association.

Whitney@vdplaw.ca
Ext 102

Matt McKarney

Matt McKarney

Matt McKarney is an associate lawyer with Vandeputte Law, practicing in the areas of Real Estate, Wills & Estates, and Corporate Law. Prior to joining Vandeputte Law, Matt articled and practiced with a full service law firm in Hamilton, where he gained experience on a range of complex files across the above noted practice areas.

Matt earned his law degree from Osgoode Hall Law School in 2016, where he served as an Associate Editor at the Osgoode Hall Law Journal and completed the Osgoode Mediation Intensive.

Matt@vdplaw.ca
Ext 108

Kelly J. Furneaux

Office Manager & Law Clerk

Kelly@vdplaw.ca
Ext 103

Kelly

Sabine Robinson

Estate Law Clerk

Sabine@vdplaw.ca
Ext 107

Sabine

Kim Brush

Wills & POA’s & Corporate Law Clerk

Kim@vdplaw.ca
Ext 201

Kim Lovatt

Susan Alford

Real Estate Law Assistant

Susan@vdplaw.ca
Ext 104

Susan

Carolyn Anderson

Family Law Clark

carolyn@vdplaw.ca
Ext 110

Vanessa Koncz

Paralegal & Law Clerk

Vanessa@vdplaw.ca
Ext 109

Chelsea Gnish

Receptionist

Chelsea@vdplaw.ca
Ext 101

Chelsea